Brisbane Folk Club Fun • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 10:58PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney10:58PM Fri17°
Melbourne10:58PM Fri12°
Brisbane10:58PM Fri20°
Perth8:58PM Fri16°
Adelaide10:28PM Fri
Hobart10:58PM Fri17°
Canberra10:58PM Fri10°
Darwin10:28PM Fri25°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Brisbane Folk Club Fun

31 October 2015 by News Desk

ent_woman&guitarThe Brisbane Folk Club in Australia is a monthly event held at the city’s Foundry venue on the first Wednesday every month.

Aiming to celebrate the best in local and national folk music, the Brisbane Folk Club will launch on December 2nd with local folk favourites Ben Salter, Neighbour and Marcus Blacke.

Headliner Ben Salter is a founding member of Giants of Science, The Gin Club and the twice-ARIA nominated Wilson Pickers. Salter’s new record ‘The Stars My Destination’ was released in May and has been making waves across the country. It scooped up a nomination for ‘Best Album’ in The Age Music Victoria Awards, was named Double J’s album of the week, and secured four-star reviews in Rolling Stone, The Courier Mail, and The Guardian – four and a half stars in The Age and The Weekend Australian.

Also gracing the stage is Neighbour, the new project of Ryan Nebauer (Fushia). Nebauer is pioneering a change in his musical direction, steering away from the indie-rock sensibilities of his former band and into true folk singer-songwriter territory, revealing his more sensitive side in the process. Neighbour has shared stages with the likes of Sahara Beck and British India, and has been shortlisted as a semi-finalist in the 2015 Telstra Road to Discovery.

Gold Coast based singer-songwriter Marcus Blacke rounds out the night with his lyrically-driven songs that tap into the very nature of the human condition. Blacke is set to serenade the crowd with his southern-style folk guitar and raw, gritty vocals.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy