Australian solar energy record • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Tue 6:51AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney6:51AM Tue14°
Melbourne6:51AM Tue
Brisbane6:51AM Tue15°
Perth4:51AM Tue10°
Adelaide6:21AM Tue
Hobart6:51AM Tue
Canberra6:51AM Tue
Darwin6:21AM Tue25°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Australian solar energy record

24 July 2016 by News Desk

Australian solar energy has reached a major milestone with power generated from rooftop panels now over 5Gigawatts.

Australian solar energyAustralian solar energy, an almost non-existent industry six years ago, is now one of the fast-growing sectors Down Under.

Latest industry data shows that 64MW of rooftop solar energy capacity was installed on properties in June, taking the Australian total to 4.964GW.

“While Britain has been experiencing record sunshine temperatures, Australia has achieved a record level of power from the sun’s energy,” says Darrell Todd founder of thinkingaustralia.

“Australia is increasingly moving towards carbon-free living and soon almost all houses will have solar panels. One thing we’re not short of Down Under is sunshine!”

The Australian solar energy market is growing at around 700MW-800MW a year and this will increase as more households adopt new battery storage technologies.

Rising prices of gas-generated electricity have driven increasing use of solar panels with excess power stored in batteries for later use.

Australian solar energy record

Queensland leads the country having Australia’s largest solar capacity, currently 1.534GW and rising.

New South Wales is catching up fast generating 1.07GW of solar energy with Victoria currently producing 935MegaWatts.

Rooftop solar energy now represents around three per cent of total electricity consumption across Australia.

Over 1.5 million Aussie households and businesses have spent more than $8 billion installing rooftop solar with around $1 billion a year now being saved on electricity bills.

Growth of rooftop solar PV in Australia is forecast to rise to 38GW by 2040 though some industry experts believe total capacity will rise to around 52GW in the same period.

Want to live and work Down Under? Click here for expert help: Skilled Migration to Australia

Want to get a job Down Under? Click here for expert help: How to Get a Job in Australia

Click here for expert help with travel visas: Travel Visas to Australia

Click here for expert help with Study Visas: Student Visas in Australia

Click here for tourist information about Australia: Visit Australia

 



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy