Australia overturns Apple cart • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Mon 3:06AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney3:06AM Mon17°
Melbourne3:06AM Mon20°
Brisbane3:06AM Mon20°
Perth1:06AM Mon13°
Adelaide2:36AM Mon
Hobart3:06AM Mon15°
Canberra3:06AM Mon12°
Darwin2:36AM Mon27°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Australia overturns Apple cart

17 August 2015 by News Desk

finance_iPhoneA Battle of the Giants has broken out down under as major banks seek to prevent Apple launching financial services in Australia.

US-owned Apple wants to launch its Apple Pay service in Australia and cash-in on the fast-growing online payments market. But the country’s ‘Big Four’ banks are seeking to stop them, fiercely protecting the $2 billion a year they earn from the market via merchant interchange fees.

What started out as a dry corporate move by Apple soon turned into a slug-fest with each side seeking to punch above its’ legal and financial weight. Behind-closed-doors talks have now broken down.

While the banks consult more lawyers, Apple is preparing to throw its’ vast corporate wealth into the fight. It has a market capitalisation of $660bn (US) plus a ready cash pile of $200bn – double the size of Australia’s biggest company, Commonwealth Bank, at ‘only’ $100bn (US).

Now the Australian banks have a second battle on their hands after Apple announced plans to launch on the Australian bond market.

Industry observers believe it’s only a matter of time before someone does a deal to break the deadlock, and that the NAB is close to striking a deal with Apple Pay, allowing the US-owned company to target iPhone users and enter the mobile and online payments market.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy