Australia Migrants Top COVID Fight • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Wed 8:58AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney8:58AM Wed20°
Melbourne8:58AM Wed18°
Brisbane7:58AM Wed24°
Perth5:58AM Wed16°
Adelaide8:28AM Wed
Hobart8:58AM Wed20°
Canberra8:58AM Wed16°
Darwin7:28AM Wed28°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Australia Migrants Top COVID Fight

10 August 2020 by News Desk

Australia migrants have been twice as pro-active in responding to the coronavirus emergency than those born in Australia.

That’s according to latest survey by the Australian Bureau of Statistics that showed people born overseas were twice as likely to wear a facemask (42%) than people who were born in Australia (20%).

People born overseas were also more likely to purchase additional medical supplies than those born in Australia (24 per cent compared to 15 per cent).

Three in five people born overseas (62 per cent) avoided public transport compared to half of those born in Australia (49 per cent).

The survey showed that one in three Australians (32 per cent) received a Commonwealth stimulus payment in May with adding to saving and household expenses the most common uses.

ABS Head of Household Surveys, Michelle Marquardt, said the detailed data provided new insights into the economic and social impacts of the pandemic on Australians.

“People were most likely to use the May stimulus payments to add to savings (29 per cent); pay bills (28 per cent); and purchase food and non-alcoholic drinks (12%),” Ms Marquardt said.

“People living in Tasmania were the most likely to have received a stimulus payment in May (47 per cent) followed by people in South Australia (39 per cent) and Queensland (37 per cent).

“Women were more likely to have received a stimulus payment than men (36 per cent compared to 27 per cent) and Australians without a non-school qualification were more likely to have received a stimulus payment (41 per cent) than those with a qualification (27 per cent).”

The survey showed that older people were most likely to have added the stimulus payment to their savings (37 per cent) or used it to make purchases such as food and furnishings (39 per cent).

People under 65 years of age were more likely to use the money to pay household bills, mortgages and other debts (47%) as were those who were employed (44 per cent) or unemployed (63 per cent).

The survey also found that the majority of Australians adopted measures to combat the spread of COVID-19, including social distance (95 per cent), cancelling personal gatherings (77 per cent) and avoiding public spaces (75 per cent).

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

Australian Migration Eligibility Enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news

For a range of official government information about Australia, visit https://www.Australia.gov.au



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy