Australia Jobs and Wages Increase • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sat 5:22PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney5:22PM Sat16°
Melbourne5:22PM Sat12°
Brisbane5:22PM Sat24°
Perth3:22PM Sat16°
Adelaide4:52PM Sat
Hobart5:22PM Sat
Canberra5:22PM Sat10°
Darwin4:52PM Sat32°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Australia Jobs and Wages Increase

14 August 2020 by News Desk

Australia jobs market saw a significant increase in July and weekly wages have also increased.

Around 115,000 new jobs were added across Australia during July.

The average weekly ordinary time earnings for full-time adults in Australia in May 2020 was $1,714, up 3.3 per cent from November 2019, according to the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

Bjorn Jarvis, head of Labour Statistics at the ABS, said: ”Lower paid jobs and industries were particularly impacted by COVID-19 restrictions, accounting for a high share of jobs lost.

“This fall in lower paid jobs led to an increase in average earnings for all employees because the remaining jobs had a higher earnings profile.

“In recent years, the six-monthly increase in average earnings for all employees has been around 1 per cent. The 3.8 per cent increase to mid-May highlights the extent of the major compositional change in jobs and earnings during this difficult period.”

The increase in average earnings was more pronounced in the private sector, given the extent of lower paid job losses in the sector. However, the level of average earnings in the public sector remained higher.

The Australian Bureau of Statistics said the jobless rate edged up to 7.5 per cent in July with the participation rate jumping to 64.7 per cent.

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news

For a range of official government information about Australia, visit https://www.Australia.gov.au



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy