Australia Jobs: Multiple Employment • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sun 10:35PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney10:35PM Sun17°
Melbourne10:35PM Sun14°
Brisbane10:35PM Sun18°
Perth8:35PM Sun15°
Adelaide10:05PM Sun
Hobart10:35PM Sun14°
Canberra10:35PM Sun
Darwin10:05PM Sun25°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Australia Jobs: Multiple Employment

19 August 2020 by News Desk

Australia Jobs: The Health Care and Social Assistance industries employ the most workers who maintain multiple jobs.

Almost four out of every five of these multi-job workers were female. The second concurrent job is the highest income job held at the same time as the first concurrent job.

The largest share of these was in the Administrative and support services (14.2%), with these being shared by male and female multiple job holders (55.6% males and 44.4% females).

In their first concurrent job, female multiple job holders were most likely to work in Health care and social assistance (240,000 female multiple job holders), Education and training (161,600), or Retail trade (127,500), while male multiple job holders were most likely to work in Administrative and support services (130,200 male multiple job holders), Construction (111,400), or Accommodation and food services (91,900).

Australia Jobs: Average Income

The median total employment income of multiple job holders was $40,500. Those with a maximum of two concurrent jobs recorded a median employment income of $41,400, while people with 3 jobs and 4 or more jobs had lower median employment incomes ($38,600 and $38,000 respectively).

The highest median employee incomes for first concurrent jobs were in Mining ($66,200), followed by Electricity, gas, water and waste services ($49,700). The Mining industry also recorded the highest median employee income for second jobs ($16,800), followed by Electricity, gas, water and waste services ($9,400).

The lowest median employee incomes for first concurrent jobs were in Accommodation and food services ($13,800), closely followed by Agriculture, forestry and fishing ($14,100). Public administration and safety and Education and training had the lowest median employee incomes for second jobs, at $2,000 and $2,800 respectively.

While some second concurrent jobs (49.6%) were held for the entire year, many were not. Of those held for less than an entire year, the median duration was 22 weeks. Results show that multiple job holders worked the same duration in their second concurrent job in 2016-17 and 2011-12, when the median duration was also 22 weeks.

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news

For a range of official government information about Australia, visit https://www.Australia.gov.au



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy