Australia Jobs Increase • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Mon 2:43AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney2:43AM Mon17°
Melbourne2:43AM Mon20°
Brisbane2:43AM Mon20°
Perth12:43AM Mon13°
Adelaide2:13AM Mon
Hobart2:43AM Mon15°
Canberra2:43AM Mon12°
Darwin2:13AM Mon27°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Australia Jobs Increase

11 June 2020 by News Desk

Australia Jobs may have been impacted by COVID-19 in the past three months but over past 12 months employment has increased.

According to the Australian Bureau of Statistics the number of filled jobs grew 1.7% through the year in seasonally adjusted terms.

Biggest rise in jobs occurred in the following sectors:

Health care and social assistance
Retail trade
Professional, scientific and technical services
Construction
Education and training

Impact of the COVID-19 emergency has been felt in the past three months with the number of filled jobs in Australia falling by 9,200 to 14.5 million in the March quarter 2020.

Main jobs decreased by 18,000 and secondary jobs increased by 8,800.

Hours actually worked decreased by 44.4 million hours to 5.4 billion hours.

Total labour income increased by $878 million, resulting in the average labour income per employed person being $19,210.

Australia Jobs Latest

Filled jobs fell by 0.1 per cent and hours worked by 0.8 per cent between the December and March quarters, according to figures released today by the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS).

Head of Labour Statistics at the ABS, Bjorn Jarvis, said “The Labour Account shows the extent of the early impacts from COVID-19 on jobs and hours across the first quarter of the year.”

Filled jobs decreased for the first time since September quarter 2016. This decrease was driven by a fall in jobs in the private sector (down by 0.1 per cent over the quarter), while public sector jobs increased by 0.8 per cent.

The rate of multiple job holding remained steady at 6.0 per cent of all employed people.

The number of job vacancies decreased by 0.2 per cent over the quarter, and was down 2.2 per cent on March quarter 2019.

“While restrictions to contain the spread of COVID-19 came into effect late in the quarter, they were extensive enough to lead to a fall in hours worked in the quarter of 0.8 per cent, which was the largest quarterly decline since the Global Financial Crisis in June 2009,“ Mr Jarvis said.

“In line with the impact seen in other indicators, the largest decline in hours worked was in the Accommodation and food services industry, a decrease of 13.6 per cent,” Mr Jarvis said.

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy