Australia has a new warship • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Tue 8:39AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney8:39AM Tue17°
Melbourne8:39AM Tue12°
Brisbane7:39AM Tue23°
Perth5:39AM Tue16°
Adelaide8:09AM Tue
Hobart8:39AM Tue10°
Canberra8:39AM Tue12°
Darwin7:09AM Tue26°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Australia has a new warship

29 May 2015 by News Desk

20051027ran8099889_090.JPGAustralia has a new warship, a destroyer called HMAS Hobart.

Vice Admiral Tim Barrett says HMAS Hobart, and the next two air warfare destroyers to be built, will herald a major change in the way the navy operates.

The new ship has the ability to launch helicopters, it carries Aegis combat systems and a range of anti-aircraft armaments.

“This ship offers a capability that the navy has not had for quite some time, indeed in some areas that we have never had,” Vice Admiral Barrett said at the launch ceremony in Adelaide. “I am very pleased with the results that we see as she enters the water.”



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy