Australia education at record high • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Thu 10:01AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney10:01AM Thu19°
Melbourne10:01AM Thu15°
Brisbane9:01AM Thu22°
Perth7:01AM Thu21°
Adelaide9:31AM Thu
Hobart10:01AM Thu20°
Canberra10:01AM Thu16°
Darwin8:31AM Thu29°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Australia education at record high

15 August 2015 by News Desk

edu_01Exports from Australia’s international education services sector reached a record high of $18.1 billion in the past year.

Australia is one of the world’s most popular destinations for students seeking educational qualifications – while enjoying a good holiday – and its’ colleges and universities are ranked among the best in the world.

The country’s education sector is its largest services export and the fourth largest export from Australia after iron ore, coal and natural gas, according to the Australian Bureau of Statistics. Education services exports – totalling $15.9 billion in 2013/14 – increased by 14.2% in the past 12 months.

International education is a major employer, supporting around 130,000 Australian jobs across the country.

Christopher Pyne MP, Minister for Education and Training, told reporters: “The Government will continue to work to ensure that international education continues to be a major contributor to the growing strength of the Australian economy and job creation well into the future.”



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy