Australia celebrates UK Brexit vote • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Mon 9:47PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney9:47PM Mon23°
Melbourne9:47PM Mon17°
Brisbane8:47PM Mon23°
Perth6:47PM Mon23°
Adelaide9:17PM Mon21°
Hobart9:47PM Mon15°
Canberra9:47PM Mon21°
Darwin8:17PM Mon30°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Australia celebrates UK Brexit vote

26 June 2016 by News Desk

The UK Brexit vote has fueled a massive spike in the number of people seeking to migrate Down Under and Aussies are saying ‘welcome’.

UK Brexit voteGovernment officials Down Under believe the EU’s loss will be Australia’s gain as the country expects a rise in investment and skills that would previously have gone to UK.

Western Australia has been quick to welcome the UK Brexit vote, hoping that new migrants and investment will now flow into the state as a result of the EU vote.

“I think Western Australia will benefit out of this,” said WA Premier Colin Barnett. “You’ll see capital coming in and new investment. We’ll see qualified aspirational people making their home here, bringing their skills, qualifications and their money.”

Darrell Todd, founder of thinkingaustralia, says: “In the last few days we have seen a huge rise in inquiries about migration to Australia.

“Young families, university graduates and investors have been in contact with us asking about opportunities in Australia. There has never been a better time to live, work and invest Down Under.”

Australia celebrates UK Brexit vote

More ex-Britons live in Western Australia than in any other state so its’ familiarity will be a big attraction to potential migrants, the WA Premier believes.

“I expect we shall see a significant increase in numbers of young and qualified Britons wanting to migrate to Australia and I think WA will be the most attractive,” he told reporters.

Western Australia has the second lowest unemployment rate in Australia and its’ economy is proving resilient, despite the collapse of its’ mining industry which is still worth $95 billion a year despite the downturn.

“For those Brits who are unhappy about the UK Brexit vote, I would urge them to consider Australia,” says Darrell Todd.

“Western Australia is a land of opportunity and continuing growth, a great environment for investors and young families who are concerned about the future.”

Want to live and work Down Under? Click here for expert help: Skilled Migration to Australia

Want to get a job Down Under? Click here for expert help: How to get a job in Australia

Click here for expert help with travel visas: Travel visas to Australia

Click here for tourist information about Australia: Visit Australia



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy