Australia bans online games • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 9:58AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney9:58AM Fri16°
Melbourne9:58AM Fri15°
Brisbane9:58AM Fri20°
Perth7:58AM Fri17°
Adelaide9:28AM Fri
Hobart9:58AM Fri13°
Canberra9:58AM Fri12°
Darwin9:28AM Fri28°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Australia bans online games

01 July 2015 by News Desk

ind_computerRegulators in Australia have banned 220 online games in the past four months, a 400% rise in the number refused classification in the past decade.

The bans, by Australia’s Classification Board, are the result of a new tie-up with global digital games regulator the International Age Rating Coalition (IARC). The government used the IARC to classify over 150,000 games, 219 of which were this month refused classification, which means the game cannot be sold, rented or advertised in Australia.

The Classification Board reviews about 400 games each year and struggles to keep abreast of the many new releases each month. Standards agreed with the International Age Rating Coalition will help the Australian government ensure that unsuitable digital games are not made available in the country. In the past ten years the Classification Board has only banned around 50 games.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy