Australia airline is worlds’ safest • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 10:18PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney10:18PM Fri18°
Melbourne10:18PM Fri13°
Brisbane10:18PM Fri21°
Perth8:18PM Fri17°
Adelaide9:48PM Fri
Hobart10:18PM Fri18°
Canberra10:18PM Fri12°
Darwin9:48PM Fri26°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Australia airline is worlds’ safest

03 February 2016 by News Desk

travel_Qantas1Qantas in Australia has been named the worlds’ safest airline for the third year running.

The airline, as famous a symbol of Australia as the kangaroo, was praised for its ‘extraordinary fatality-free record in the jet era’ and its’ ‘extraordinary record of firsts’.

While Qantas remains No 1 for safety the remainder of the top twenty (in alphabetical order) are: Air New Zealand, Alaska Airlines, All Nippon Airlines, American Airlines, Cathay Pacific Airways, Emirates, Etihad Airways, EVA Air, Finnair, Hawaiian Airlines, Japan Airlines, KLM, Lufthansa, Scandinavian Airline System, Singapore Airlines, Swiss, United Airlines, Virgin Atlantic and Virgin Australia, according to AirlineRatings.com

During its’ 95-year history Qantas, the world’s oldest continuously operating airline, has achieved an extraordinary record of firsts in operations and safety and is recognised worldwide as the industry’s most experienced carrier.

The Australian airline has been a leader in the development of the Future Air Navigation System; the Flight Data Recorder to monitor plane and later crew performance; automatic landings using Global Navigation Satellite System as well as precision approaches around mountains in cloud using RNP.

Qantas was also praised as the lead airline with real time monitoring of its jet engines using satellite communications, enabling problems to be detected before they become a safety issue.

In a separate list of low cost airlines, one Australian carrier – Jetstar Australia – and two British carriers – Flybe and Thomas Cook – achieved top rankings.

407 airlines were examined and awarded up to seven stars for safety. 148 carriers were given a top seven-star safety ranking, but around 50 airlines had just three stars or less. There are 10 airlines with only one star and these airlines are from Indonesia, Nepal and Surinam.

In 2015 the world’s airlines carried a record 3.6 billion passengers on 34 million flights.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy