Aussie cyclist wins Tour de France • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Thu 11:52AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney11:52AM Thu22°
Melbourne11:52AM Thu15°
Brisbane11:52AM Thu26°
Perth9:52AM Thu20°
Adelaide11:22AM Thu
Hobart11:52AM Thu14°
Canberra11:52AM Thu15°
Darwin11:22AM Thu30°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Aussie cyclist wins Tour de France

15 July 2016 by News Desk

Tour de France winner Mathews, whose nickname is ‘bling’ won the stage thanks to support from his cycling team-mates.

Tour de FranceThe Tour de France 10th stage saw leader Chris Froome crash out after a fan ran onto the track and he had to sprint ahead to find another cycle.

Canberra-based Michael Matthews took the winner’s accolade after years of bad luck in his attempt to compete in the Tour de France.

The 23 year-old Aussie cyclist missed out in 2014 when he suffered a series of training injuries.

In 2015 he was forced to abandon his Tour hopes after he broke four ribs.

Mathews told reporters: “This year already I had crashed twice. I was almost giving up on this race, thinking maybe the Tour de France is not for me”.

Mathews, who lives in the Canberra suburb of Farrer, spent his childhood riding bikes in motocross events. He has gained a reputation as an extrovert who loves expensive jewelry, hence his nickname – ‘bling’.

Aussie wins Tour de France

Now he’s got more ‘bling’ to show off, having won the Tour de France 10th stage in Andora.

Mathews piled on the power after a 197km chase and, aided by the support of his fellow Orica-Bike Exchange team members, pulled into the lead.

Peter Sagan came second in the race stage and Norway’s Edvald Boasson Hagen finished third.

Britain’s Chris Froome managed to retain the overall leader’s yellow jersey, despite his earlier crash, and finished just over nine minutes off the pace.

Want to live and work Down Under? Click here for expert help: Skilled Migration to Australia

Want to get a job Down Under? Click here for expert help: How to get a job in Australia

Click here for expert help with travel visas: Travel visas to Australia

Click here for tourist information about Australia: Visit Australia



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy