Auckland faces a housing shortage • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Tue 11:58PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney11:58PM Tue19°
Melbourne11:58PM Tue12°
Brisbane11:58PM Tue23°
Perth9:58PM Tue14°
Adelaide11:28PM Tue
Hobart11:58PM Tue11°
Canberra11:58PM Tue11°
Darwin11:28PM Tue28°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Auckland faces a housing shortage

01 June 2015 by News Desk

new-zealand01A shortage of properties for sale has driven up average house prices in Auckland by 13% to $720,000 over the past year, according to Latest figures from the Real Estate Institute.

This compares to New Zealand’s national average house price of $350,000, and an increase of just 1.4% in the past 12 months.

Reserve Bank deputy governor Grant Spencer suggested the situation calls for the introduction of a capital gains tax. There is no general capital gains tax in New Zealand.

New Zealand’s Treasury secretary Gabriel Makhlouf rejects the call for new property tax. “The heart of the housing issue in Auckland is that we are not building enough houses. Changing planning regulations is the single biggest thing that would make a difference”.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy