Adelaide V8 car race • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Mon 2:58AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney2:58AM Mon17°
Melbourne2:58AM Mon20°
Brisbane2:58AM Mon20°
Perth12:58AM Mon13°
Adelaide2:28AM Mon
Hobart2:58AM Mon15°
Canberra2:58AM Mon12°
Darwin2:28AM Mon27°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Adelaide V8 car race

25 February 2016 by News Desk

The city of Adelaide will this month play host to over 250,000 motors port fans during Australia’s most popular V8 car race, the Clipsal 500 event.

AdelaideAdelaide: motor sport fans will get the chance to see world-class vehicles including Lee Holdsworth’s V8 Supercar and Robby Gordon’s Toyo Tires Stadium Super Truck.

Adelaide is no stranger to top sporting events having earlier this month played host to the world’s best golfers.

This weeks’ four-day Women’s Australian Open Golf tournament attracted a record crowd of over 31,000 visitors.

Now thousands more are expected to attend the Clipsal 500 Adelaide event

Leon Bignell, Minister for Tourism, says it’s one of the most exciting times of the year to be in South Australia.

“Adelaide is pumping with the Adelaide Fringe and other Mad March events and there will be four action packed days of racing and world-class entertainment at the Clipsal 500 Adelaide,” he said.

The event will feature eight race categories – V8 Supercars, Dunlop Series, Porsche Carrera Cup, Toyo Tires Stadium Super Trucks, CAMS Australian GT Championship, Touring Car Masters, Australian V8 Utes and Aussie Racing Cars.

Last year’s event attracted around 285,000 fans and generated over $60 million into the state’s economy.

The success of the Clipsal 500 is due to fans being offered a wide range of entertainment with motorsport racing, family activities and evening concerts.

Clipsal 500 Director Mark Warren said: “We’ve focused heavily on giving fans the best experience possible to watch motorsport. We’re really excited about the Grandstands which offer larger, more comfortable seating with the best views of the track and new super screens.”

As well as the on-track action there will be the Cars of the Screen exhibition, featuring the Batmobile and other movie and television favourites.

“Australia is sporting-mad and car racing is one of the most popular,” says Darrell Todd, CEO of thinkingaustralia. “The Clipsal 500 is one of the country’s top sporting events.”

Clipsal 500 Adelaide will be held from 3 – 6 March 2016.

Tickets are still available at: Clipsal 500

Click here for info on travel visas: Travel to Australia

 



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy