Adelaide summit to create jobs • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Thu 11:48AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney11:48AM Thu22°
Melbourne11:48AM Thu16°
Brisbane10:48AM Thu23°
Perth8:48AM Thu23°
Adelaide11:18AM Thu
Hobart11:48AM Thu20°
Canberra11:48AM Thu19°
Darwin10:18AM Thu30°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Adelaide summit to create jobs

07 August 2015 by News Desk

Jobs02State councilors from across South Australia met in Adelaide today to discuss ways to boost the economy and create more jobs.

State councils are aiming to devise a plan of action that will bring forward major infrastructure projects, support S.A. companies and promote regional tourism. Representatives from 36 councils gathered at Adelaide Town Hall to discuss ways in which local government can boost the state economy.

Speaking at the ‘Summit on Jobs Growth’, Adelaide Lord Mayor Martin Haese said: “South Australia’s councils have a workforce of around 9000 fulltime staff and a combined budget of over $2 billion.

Mr Haese said he wanted at least six achievable ideas to come from the summit. Plans include bringing forward capital projects and engaging the private sector and promoting regional tourism packages across the state.

“Local Government can’t wave a wand to solve the issue but we can work together to find ways we can assist business to stimulate growth and create jobs,” said Dave Burgess, president of the Local Government Association.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy