$91,000 for Australia nurses • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Thu 9:36PM
Select Destination
LocationTimeTemp
Sydney9:36PM Thu18°
Melbourne9:36PM Thu13°
Brisbane8:36PM Thu23°
Perth6:36PM Thu17°
Adelaide9:06PM Thu12°
Hobart9:36PM Thu10°
Canberra9:36PM Thu10°
Darwin8:06PM Thu30°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

$91,000 for Australia nurses

08 September 2015 by News Desk

health_doctor2The average salary for nurses in public hospitals in Australia is $91,000 a year and is rising by 3.4% every year.

Average pay for salaried medical staff, meanwhile, is around $188,000 per year. And Australia is seeking skilled medical professionals – including nurses, doctors, midwives and cardiologists – to cope with the rise in demand from a growing, and ageing, population.

Salaries and budgets are rising across the country. Over the past five years, salaries for public hospital staff have increased by over 15% (an average of 3.4% every year).

There are currently around 1,359 hospitals in Australia—747 public hospitals, accounting for 65% of hospital beds (58,600), and 612 private hospitals accounting for 35% of beds (31,000).

Total hospital expenditure in Australia for public and private hospitals topped $55 billion last year according to the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare. More than $44 billion was spent by public hospitals and over $11 billion by private hospitals.

Expenditure by public hospitals is rising by 4.4% each year. For private hospitals, expenditure has increased by an average 3.4% annually over the past five years.

Darrell Todd of thinkingaustralia says: “If you are a skilled medical professional Australia needs you! Contact us today to find out how you could be living and working in Australia”.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy