$250m for South Australia energy • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Thu 9:03AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney9:03AM Thu17°
Melbourne9:03AM Thu15°
Brisbane8:03AM Thu21°
Perth6:03AM Thu21°
Adelaide8:33AM Thu
Hobart9:03AM Thu19°
Canberra9:03AM Thu13°
Darwin7:33AM Thu28°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

$250m for South Australia energy

30 August 2015 by News Desk

ind_wind-turbineA new wind farm project will generate $250 million for the economy of South Australia and deliver clean energy to the capital, Adelaide.

That’s the aim of a new joint venture between French company Neoen and the Australian Capital Territory Government that will see a major expansion of the Hornsdale wind farms outside Jamestown, in South Australia’s mid-north

Wind power is the fastest growing renewable energy source for electricity generation in Australia and the company also has solar and wind interests in New South Wales, Western Australia and Queensland.

The ACT Government is on target to deliver 90% of the capital’s electricity from renewable energy sources by 2020. Under a 20-year contract, the wind farms will 100 megawatts of power to households.

Thirty two wind turbines will be erected on the hills outside of Jamestown, across 15 different properties. A further $500 million will be spent on turbines to generate an additional 170 megawatts of power for the national grid.

Renewable energy currently supplies 14% of household electricity with 4% generated by wind energy.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy