230,298 new homes in Australia • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sun 10:02PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney10:02PM Sun17°
Melbourne10:02PM Sun14°
Brisbane10:02PM Sun20°
Perth8:02PM Sun15°
Adelaide9:32PM Sun
Hobart10:02PM Sun14°
Canberra10:02PM Sun11°
Darwin9:32PM Sun26°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

230,298 new homes in Australia

03 November 2015 by News Desk

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMore than 230,000 new homes have been built in Australia over the past year but construction is now slowing down.

According to latest figures from the Australian Bureau of Statistics, around 18,900 new homes were approved for construction across the country in September, a 1.9% fall compared to an average of 20,000 new approvals per month over most of 2015.

But there is a wide disparity across Australia with a 42% increase in Queensland and a 39% fall in the Australian Capital Territory which includes Canberra.

There has also been a big increase in the number of apartments and units being built in major cities. The number of approvals for construction of apartments grew by 6.1% compared August.

The growth in new apartments is making its effect felt most in Sydney where a raft of new properties coming onto the market has led to the recent cooling in the city’s housing market.

Darrell Todd of thinkingaustralia says: “It’s good to see that the level of house and apartment building is remaining relatively stable. The more properties that come onto the market, the more it will address the housing shortage and keep prices down. Continuing high levels of home building also creates thousands of jobs across the country.”



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy