$1bn for Sydney stadiums • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Mon 8:29PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney8:29PM Mon23°
Melbourne8:29PM Mon18°
Brisbane7:29PM Mon24°
Perth5:29PM Mon23°
Adelaide7:59PM Mon24°
Hobart8:29PM Mon16°
Canberra8:29PM Mon25°
Darwin6:59PM Mon31°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

$1bn for Sydney stadiums

07 September 2015 by News Desk

sport_stadiumThousands of jobs are to be created in Sydney and New South Wales in Australia as part of a plan to build five new sports stadiums.

In what will be the biggest investment in sport and major event infrastructure since the 2000 Sydney Olympics, over $1 billion will be invested in New South Wales’ stadiums over the next decade.

The plan includes: a new rectangular stadium at Parramatta with 30,000 seats; a new 50,000-seat stadium at Moore Park; the redevelopment of Stadium Australia; a new indoor arena near the Central Business District; and a new outer western Sydney sporting venue.

“Sydney needs world class sporting venues and this investment will ensure fans and sporting teams have the facilities they deserve,” said NSW Premier Mike Baird. “This huge investment will boost our capacity to attract big ticket events to NSW, as well as create and support thousands of jobs.”

Darrell Todd of thinkingaustralia says: “This is great news for skilled workers seeking a new life in Australia. Over the next decade many thousands of works will be required to complete the projects and there will great demand for workers to manage and maintain the new stadiums”.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy