$10bn from Australia tax reform • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Mon 9:53PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney9:53PM Mon23°
Melbourne9:53PM Mon17°
Brisbane8:53PM Mon23°
Perth6:53PM Mon23°
Adelaide9:23PM Mon21°
Hobart9:53PM Mon15°
Canberra9:53PM Mon21°
Darwin8:23PM Mon30°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

$10bn from Australia tax reform

10 August 2015 by News Desk

A reform of tax laws in Australia could boost the national economy by more than $10 billion a year according to a new report.

australiaA reform of tax laws in Australia could boost the national economy by more than $10 billion a year according to a new report.

That’s according to the Property Council of Australia, who is calling for the abolition of stamp duty and other inefficient taxes to boost the economy.

A new report by the P.C.A says that three key changes to taxes could boost the economy by billions of dollars each year.

And the changes could also raise another $7 billion in additional revenue for state governments.

Ken Morrison, head of the P.C.A., said: “We can grow the economy and raise more revenue if we rely on a better mix of taxes than what we have today. Stamp duty, for example, is not just a big cost to home buyers it is also a handbrake on economic activity.

Over 70% of Australians want to see an end to stamp duty and a better, more efficient system. “Tax reform will not only make the Australian economy stronger and Australians better off, but is overwhelmingly supported by the community,” adds Morrison.

Click here for tourist info about Australia: Visit Down Under

 



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy