$100m upgrade for Hobart airport • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 10:56AM
Select Destination
LocationTimeTemp
Sydney10:56AM Fri23°
Melbourne10:56AM Fri13°
Brisbane10:56AM Fri24°
Perth8:56AM Fri18°
Adelaide10:26AM Fri17°
Hobart10:56AM Fri11°
Canberra10:56AM Fri17°
Darwin10:26AM Fri29°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

$100m upgrade for Hobart airport

14 June 2015 by News Desk

travel_wingHobart Airport in Tasmania is to undergo a $100 million upgrade so it can handle direct flights from south east Asia.

Tasmania is seeking to increase its visitor numbers to 1.5 million each year with Hobart the gateway for 60% of all air traffic to and from the island. Tourism, migration and trade is increasing with countries across south east Asia and Tasmania is determined not to be left out as visitor numbers grow across Australia.

Major construction work will include a 500-metre extension of the runway to handle larger aircraft. Airport owners are spending $25 million on new departure and arrival halls, improved dining, lounges, car parking and access roads with the project due to be completed mid-2016.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy