Visa holders in Australia • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Tue 7:54AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney7:54AM Tue15°
Melbourne7:54AM Tue
Brisbane7:54AM Tue16°
Perth5:54AM Tue
Adelaide7:24AM Tue
Hobart7:54AM Tue
Canberra7:54AM Tue
Darwin7:24AM Tue25°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Visa holders in Australia

31 March 2020 by News Desk

Visa for Australia: Visa holders in Australia must apply for a new visa before your current visa expires. You may be eligible to be granted a bridging visa that will keep you lawful until a decision is made on your visa application.

Click link to see what you need to do to stay longer.
https://immi.homeaffairs.gov.au/visas/visa-about-to-expire/stay-longer

No further stay condition (includes 8503, 8534 and 8535) – This means you can’t apply for most other visas until you leave Australia. If your visa has less than 2 months validity remaining you can request to waive this condition.
https://immi.homeaffairs.gov.au/visas/already-have-a-visa/check-visa-details-and-conditions/waivers-and-permissions/no-further-stay-waiver

Condition 8558 (Non-resident cannot stay for more than 12 months in any 18 months period) – You will need to apply for a new visa that suits your new needs. Contact www.thinkingAustralia.com

If your visa has expired, you need to apply for Bridging E visa (BVE) immediately in order to become lawful. A BVE keeps you lawful while you make arrangements to leave or finalise your immigration matter.

Complying with visa conditions

Can’t enter before required entry date – For temporary visa holders, you will need to apply for a new visa once the travel restrictions are lifted. Permanent visa holders should contact the departmental office which granted their visa, but only when they are able to travel.

Can’t provide additional information due to office closure (Health or Police clearances, Biometrics, English Language Testing) – You will be given additional time to complete checks and provide requested information. You do not need to contact us to ask for an extension while the relevant services are unavailable.

Can’t return to Australia before my visa expires and want to return – You will need to apply for a new visa once the travel restrictions are lifted.

Can’t return to Australia in time for my new visa which requires me to be in Australia at time of application or grant – You will need to apply for a new visa once the travel restrictions are lifted.

Can’t complete Australian Study Requirement or periods of stay under the regional initiatives for Temporary graduate visa holders – The government is looking at possible concessions on a case-by-case basis.

Australian border closures

From 9.00pm 20 March, only Australian citizens, residents and immediate family members can travel to and enter Australia.

All travellers to Australia are required to self-isolate for 14 days, either at home or in a hotel.

Travel restrictions are subject to change. Please check back regularly.

For full details of Australian Government advice, go to:
https://www.health.gov.au/news/health-alerts/novel-coronavirus-2019-ncov-health-alert/coronavirus-covid-19-advice-for-travellers

Coronavirus (COVID-19) advice for travellers
https://www.homeaffairs.gov.au/news-media/current-alerts/novel-coronavirus



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy