Local:
Sydney: Tue 12:17PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney12:17PM Tue19°
Melbourne12:17PM Tue15°
Brisbane11:17AM Tue21°
Perth9:17AM Tue15°
Adelaide11:47AM Tue
Hobart12:17PM Tue11°
Canberra12:17PM Tue15°
Darwin10:47AM Tue28°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our bookozdirectory

Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race

21 October 2015 by News Desk

sport_sailing-boatThis year’s Sydney Hobart Yacht Race will feature more than 90 boats from over 25 countries.

The event, the world’s most famous yacht race, will see boats and crews representing every state in Australia as well as 17 boats from Britain; two boats from China and entries from Holland, Germany, Italy, Switzerland, USA and many others.

British crews include Daniel Stump’s Lupa of London, Colin Buffin’s Uxorious IV, Adventure and Discoverer of Hornet entered by the Joint Services Adventurous Sail Training Centre, along with GYR Wot Eva, chartered by Global Yacht Racing.

Mainland China is fielding two entries for its first foray into the race with Ark323 (Noahs Group) and Fei Li (Roy Pan), Eric De Turckheim’s Teasing Machine is representing landlocked Switzerland, KLC Bengal (Yoshihiko Murase) returns from Japan having finished the 2012 race in 12th place overall and Giovani Soldini, one of Italy’s most famous yachtsmen, will race the V70, Italia70.

The USA is represented by Jim Clark and Kristy Hinze-Clark’s super maxi Comanche, Germany’s entry is the Hamburgischer Verein Seefahrt’s Haspa Hamburg, and Holland’s entry is Gijs Van Liebergen’s King’s Legend.

Australian crews are aiming to take top honours with champion boats Wild Oats XI, Black Jack and Chinese Whisper. Mid-size boats are TP52’s Balance, Cougar II and Celestial.

The start of the Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race will be broadcast live on the Seven Network throughout Australia, webcast live to a global audience on Yahoo!7 and live streamed via mobile.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies.
Cookie Policy Privacy policy