Sterling Rises after Wage Growth Data, GBP/AUD, GBP/EUR Higher
Local:
Sydney: Mon 5:40AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney5:40AM Mon21°
Melbourne5:40AM Mon16°
Brisbane4:40AM Mon21°
Perth2:40AM Mon18°
Adelaide5:10AM Mon17°
Hobart5:40AM Mon16°
Canberra5:40AM Mon11°
Darwin4:10AM Mon29°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Sterling Climbs Following Wage Growth News, GBP/AUD, GBP/EUR Higher

13 December 2017 by FC Exchange

Currency experts FC Exchange explain why the pound to Australian dollar (GBP/AUD) exchange rate is climbing in Wednesday's European session.

The pound climbed against other major currencies on Wednesday including the euro (GBP/EUR) after UK labour market data was released. Real wages jumped from 2.3% to 2.5% in the three months through October on the year. Excluding bonuses, average weekly earnings rose more modestly, from 2.2% to 2.3%. The increase was positive news to investors following inflation readings in Monday’s session which had shown consumer prices had leapt higher to 3.1% in November.

Economist Ben Brettel commented: ‘The pay squeeze continues for now, but with wages growing a little more strongly and inflation set to fall back in the new year, this looks like it’ll come to an end in the next few months.’

The UK’s unemployment rate remained stable at 4.3%. However, the less positive news was that the data shows the number of people in employment has fallen for the second consecutive reading, dropping by -56K – the biggest fall since May 2015.

Meanwhile, investors in the Australian dollar will be looking towards Thursday’s Australian employment change and unemployment rate data. On Tuesday Reserve Bank of Australia (RBA) Governor, Phillip Lowe, gave a speech, but the Australian commodity currency was little moved.

In the Eurozone, industrial production came in at a healthy 3.7% on the year in October, despite forecasts for only 3.3%. The euro might fluctuate on Thursday with the European Central Bank’s (ECB) interest rate decision and follow-up press conference from ECB Chief Mario Draghi.Additionally, Brexit developments are likely to make the headlines this week and create GBP fluctuations.

So far in Wednesday’s European session, the pound to euro (GBP/EUR) exchange rate has hit highs of 1.1379. The pound to Australian dollar (GBP/AUD) exchange rate has reached pinnacles of 1.7674.

Disclaimer: This economic update is provided by FC Exchange a Global Reach Group Company, industry leaders in foreign exchange. Authorised affiliates are permitted to reuse content.

Learn more about the Australian Dollar – Contact FC Exchange: Get A Quote

Want to live and work Down Under? Click here for expert help: Skilled Migration to Australia

Want to get a job Down Under? Click here for expert help: How to Get a Job in Australia

Click here for expert help with travel visas: Travel Visas to Australia

Click here for tourist information about Australia: Visit Australia



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy