South Australia call for jobs cash • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Thu 10:34AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney10:34AM Thu19°
Melbourne10:34AM Thu15°
Brisbane9:34AM Thu22°
Perth7:34AM Thu21°
Adelaide10:04AM Thu
Hobart10:34AM Thu20°
Canberra10:34AM Thu16°
Darwin9:04AM Thu29°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

South Australia call for jobs cash

31 July 2015 by News Desk

jobs_workersLocal government money should be used to create more jobs in South Australia, industrial experts say.

The call has come from Australia’s Civil Contractors Federation whose members provide the major infrastructure projects that have been driving the country’s economy.

“The State and the Federal Government are investing in a number of projects in SA, including major road projects. Now we’re calling on local councils now to play their part by bringing forward projects and debt-funding these if they have to”, said Phil Sutherland of the Civil Contractors Federation.

“Councils can borrow money, governments at all levels can borrow money at low interest rates and they can reinvest that money into productive infrastructure, which is a proven job creation strategy”.

The South Australian Government says that in the past three months the total value of capital investment projects in SA rose to $42.3 billion, a rise of 16% and a rise of 23% over the past year



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy