Pound Sterling (GBP) Exchange Rate Jumps on Brexit Breakthrough • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Mon 9:18PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney9:18PM Mon23°
Melbourne9:18PM Mon18°
Brisbane8:18PM Mon24°
Perth6:18PM Mon23°
Adelaide8:48PM Mon24°
Hobart9:18PM Mon16°
Canberra9:18PM Mon25°
Darwin7:48PM Mon31°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Pound Sterling (GBP) Exchange Rate Jumps on Brexit Breakthrough

08 December 2017 by FC Exchange

The pound jumped against other major currencies on Friday morning as it seemed a Brexit breakthrough was made, say exchange rate experts FC Exchange.

The pound climbed against the euro (GBP/EUR) on Friday as the UK and EU made a breakthrough on Brexit. The GBP/EUR exchange rate managed to break the 1.15 level—a six-month high—as an agreement on the Irish border and other issues was reached, allowing talks to move onto trade. The pound to Australian dollar (GBP/AUD) exchange rate has reached highs of 1.7995.

European Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker stated: ‘Both sides had to listen to each other, adjust their position and show a willingness to compromise. This was a difficult negotiation for the European Union as well as for the United Kingdom.’

The situation regarding the Irish border seems to allow Northern Ireland’s regulations to remain in ‘full alignment’ with EU law. Arlene Foster, the Democratic Unionist Party (DUP) leader said: ‘There is no red line down the Irish Sea and clear confirmation that the entirety of the UK is leaving the EU, leaving the single market, and leaving the customs union.’

To take advantage of this positive exchange rate shift, contact FC Exchange on +44 (0)20 7989 0000 and discuss how you can maximise your international money transfer.

The pound to euro (GBP/EUR) exchange rate is trending at levels of 1.1479. The pound to Australian dollar (GBP/AUD) exchange rate currently holds at levels of 1.7941.

Disclaimer: This economic update is provided by FC Exchange a Global Reach Group Company, industry leaders in foreign exchange. Authorised affiliates are permitted to reuse content.

Learn more about the Australian Dollar – Contact FC Exchange: Get A Quote

Want to live and work Down Under? Click here for expert help: Skilled Migration to Australia

Want to get a job Down Under? Click here for expert help: How to Get a Job in Australia

Click here for expert help with travel visas: Travel Visas to Australia

Click here for tourist information about Australia: Visit Australia



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy