Moving to Australia for popular garden birds • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Mon 9:22PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney9:22PM Mon23°
Melbourne9:22PM Mon17°
Brisbane8:22PM Mon23°
Perth6:22PM Mon23°
Adelaide8:52PM Mon21°
Hobart9:22PM Mon15°
Canberra9:22PM Mon21°
Darwin7:52PM Mon30°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Moving to Australia for popular garden birds

26 November 2016 by News Desk

Moving to Australia where the Rainbow Lorikeet has topped a national poll for the third successive year.

Moving to AustraliaMoving to Australia you’ll find colourful and noisy Miner Birds came second as the country’s most-recognised bird.

Black and white Magpies are the third most frequently-noticed species of garden bird.

The Rainbow Lorikeet has spectacular colourful plumage – likened to a Hawaiian shirt.

Almost 1.4 million birds were counted in this year’s census, according to BirdLife Australia, a 40 per cent increase compared to the previous year.

Moving to Australia: Aussies’ top garden birds

The BirdLife Australia count was held as part of National Bird Week during October and involved residents taking note of how many birds they spotted in their community over a 20-minute period.

This year’s national birdwatching survey recorded over 583 bird species.

BirdLife Australia’s Sean Dooley said the results of this year’s count would give the organisation a much stronger sense of what was occurring to Australian birds across the country.

Next year’s Aussie Backyard Bird Count will start on October 23 2017.

The full results of the census are available at www.birdlife.org.au

Are you thinking of moving to Australia? Click here for expert help: Skilled Migration to Australia

Want to get a job Down Under? Click here for expert help: How to Get a Job in Australia

Click here for expert help with travel visas: Travel Visas to Australia

Click here for expert help with Study Visas: Student Visas in Australia

Click here for tourist information about Australia: Visit Australia



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy