Mortgage Lending ‘Steady’ • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Mon 2:35AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney2:35AM Mon17°
Melbourne2:35AM Mon20°
Brisbane2:35AM Mon20°
Perth12:35AM Mon13°
Adelaide2:05AM Mon
Hobart2:35AM Mon15°
Canberra2:35AM Mon12°
Darwin2:05AM Mon27°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Mortgage Lending ‘Steady’

08 May 2020 by News Desk

Mortgage Lending for new housing rose slightly in March despite the coronavirus emergency.

The value of new Mortgage Lending commitments for housing rose 0.2 per cent in March, seasonally adjusted, according to the latest Australian Bureau of Statistics figures.

The value of new loan commitments for owner-occupier housing rose 1.2 per cent, while investor housing fell 2.5 per cent.
ABS Chief Economist, Bruce Hockman, said: “New loan commitments for housing were steady in March despite escalating COVID-19 restrictions.”

Mortgage Lending

March loan commitments largely reflected loan applications submitted in February or the first half of March before major restrictions were introduced.

Some lending institutions reported a slowdown in new loan applications towards the end of March.

The value of new loan commitments for fixed term personal finance fell 8.2 per cent in March.

This was driven by weaker lending for road vehicles (down 10.2 per cent) as well as a sharp decrease in the much smaller travel and holidays series (down 42.8 per cent).

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry/

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy