Jobs in Australia 2020 • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 7:43AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney7:43AM Fri15°
Melbourne7:43AM Fri
Brisbane7:43AM Fri18°
Perth5:43AM Fri14°
Adelaide7:13AM Fri
Hobart7:43AM Fri
Canberra7:43AM Fri
Darwin7:13AM Fri24°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Jobs in Australia 2020

27 June 2020 by News Desk

Jobs in Australia have been heavily impacted by the COVID-19 emergency with the number of vacancies falling to an all-time low.

The number of job vacancies in Australia decreased by 43 per cent over the May 2020 quarter, the largest fall on record, according to new figures from the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

Bjorn Jarvis, head of labour statistics at the ABS, said: “this was the largest quarterly fall in job vacancies over the 40 years of the survey, and well above the previous largest fall of 27 per cent, during the 1990s recession back in November 1990.

Job vacancies in the private sector fell by 45 per cent, and by 29 per cent in the public sector.

In original series terms, falls in vacancies were seen in all states and territories. The largest fall was in Victoria, which decreased by more than half (52 per cent).

All states and territories recorded substantial decreases in job vacancies in May 2020. The fall was greatest in Victoria (down 51.9%) and lowest in Queensland (down 34.3%) in original terms.

Jobs in Australia

Three of the industries most heavily impacted by recent job losses also showed the largest declines in job vacancies.

“Vacancies in the Arts and recreation services industry fell 95 per cent, followed by Rental, hiring and real estate (down 68 per cent), and Accommodation and food services (down 66 per cent),” Mr Jarvis said.

Additional ABS analysis showed that 93 per cent of businesses reported no vacancies at all in May 2020, up from 88 per cent in the previous May. This was particularly high in the Arts and recreation services industry (close to 100 per cent), and the Accommodation and food services industry (98 per cent).

“The ABS understands that this has been a difficult time for businesses in Australia and would like to thank the community for their continued support in responding to ABS surveys, given how critically important this information is,” said Mr Jarvis.

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy