‘Green’ rail network for Canberra • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 8:56AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney8:56AM Fri10°
Melbourne8:56AM Fri13°
Brisbane8:56AM Fri15°
Perth6:56AM Fri17°
Adelaide8:26AM Fri
Hobart8:56AM Fri12°
Canberra8:56AM Fri
Darwin8:26AM Fri26°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

‘Green’ rail network for Canberra

26 June 2015 by News Desk

canberra_trainCanberra’s new light rail project, a multi-million dollar network linking Civic to Gungahlin in Canberra’s north, will be 100% powered by renewable energy.

The new Capital Metro project will help the government to achieve a target of 90% renewable energy by 2020 – the time in which stage one light rail will be operational. “This will enable the Capital Metro project to be 100% green energy powered,” said environment minister Simon Corbell.

The ACT government says the successful bidder would be required to source a minimum of 10% of the light rail system’s electricity from renewable sources like solar or wind. The successful bidder would also need to have measures in place to reduce the emissions resulting from building the network, including energy efficient construction practices and sourcing carbon offsets.

Canberra has the highest car dependence of any major Australian city, with transport now responsible for 25% of the ACT’s greenhouse gas emissions.

“Light rail has the potential to greatly improve our city’s liveability and sustainability by getting people out of their cars and onto public transport. This will not only reduce our greenhouse gas emissions but also congestion and travel times,” said environment minister Corbell.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy