GBP/EUR Drops to Seven-Year Low as Euro Climbs, AUG/GBP Trends Higher as Sterling Sinks
Sydney: Wed 10:12PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney10:12PM Wed20°
Melbourne10:12PM Wed18°
Brisbane9:12PM Wed24°
Perth7:12PM Wed31°
Adelaide9:42PM Wed17°
Hobart10:12PM Wed13°
Canberra10:12PM Wed13°
Darwin8:42PM Wed25°


Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

GBP/EUR Drops to 2016 Low as Euro Rallies, AUD/GBP Higher

11 August 2017 by FC Exchange

The pound has fallen to a 2016 low versus the euro (GBP/EUR), plummeting below the 1.10 level for the first time since October. The US dollar also fell against the single currency (USD/EUR) in Friday’s session following US inflation numbers which showed less growth than expected, weighing on the possibility of another interest rate hike by the Federal Reserve.

As the euro jumped against the dollar, it was given some further buoyancy to climb against sterling. Britain’s trade balance data disappointed markets yesterday when it was revealed that the deficit grew in June following the hung parliament result. Now some of the largest banks such as HSBC and Morgan Stanley have predicted the euro will have a higher value than the pound before the year closes.

The euro may be offered more opportunity to rally if the European Central Bank (ECB) decides to start the removal process of its stimulus programme.

However, this week did bring some good news for the UK economy in the form of industrial output data. Industrial production rose by 0.5% in June bypassing economists’ expectations. Overall production in quarter two sank by 0.4% on the quarter, encouraged lower by a 0.6% decline in car manufacturing.

Meanwhile, the Australian Dollar traded back and forth on Friday as investors digested geopolitical tensions and comments from Reserve Bank of Australia (RBA) Governor Philip Lowe. The Aussie was able to register gains towards the end of the week as the RBA Governor suggested that the market’s expectation for a rate rise next year was largely accurate – a change from the usual dovish rhetoric. The Governor also said that the strong AUD exchange rate would be likely to hinder inflation and employment growth.

The current GBP/EUR exchange rate is trending in the region of 1.0989. The pound to Australian dollar (GBP/AUD) exchange rate is trading at around 1.6477.

Disclaimer: This economic update is provided by FC Exchange a Global Reach Group Company, industry leaders in foreign exchange. Authorised affiliates are permitted to reuse content.

Learn more about the Australian Dollar – Contact FC Exchange: Get A Quote

Want to live and work Down Under? Click here for expert help: Skilled Migration to Australia

Want to get a job Down Under? Click here for expert help: How to Get a Job in Australia

Click here for expert help with travel visas: Travel Visas to Australia

Click here for tourist information about Australia: Visit Australia