GBP Jumps on Bank of England (BoE) Surprise | Thinking Australia
Local:
Sydney: Thu 2:16PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney2:16PM Thu19°
Melbourne2:16PM Thu14°
Brisbane2:16PM Thu23°
Perth12:16PM Thu26°
Adelaide1:46PM Thu15°
Hobart2:16PM Thu13°
Canberra2:16PM Thu16°
Darwin1:46PM Thu32°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

GBP Jumps on Bank of England (BoE) Surprise

15 June 2017 by FC Exchange

Markets were taken by surprise on Thursday causing the pound sterling (GBP) exchange rate to jump against other currency majors. Investors had expected a dovish Bank of England (BoE) rate decision which would have likely left the pound relatively unchanged. However, the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC) instead voted 5-3 to keep rates on hold showing that three policymakers had become more hawkish in their stance.

The BoE meeting minutes stated: ‘Regarding Bank Rate, five members of the Committee (the Governor, Ben Broadbent, Jon Cunliffe, Andrew Haldane and Gertjan Vlieghe) voted in favour of the proposition. Three members (Kristin Forbes, Ian McCafferty and Michael Saunders) voted against the proposition, preferring to increase Bank Rate by 25 basis points.’

As a result, the GBP/EUR exchange rate hit a daily high of 1.1463, while the GBP/USD exchange rate reached levels of 1.2795.

Disclaimer: This economic update is provided by FC Exchange a Global Reach Group Company, industry leaders in foreign exchange. Authorised affiliates are permitted to reuse content.

Learn more about the Australian Dollar – Contact FC Exchange: Get A Quote

Want to live and work Down Under? Click here for expert help: Skilled Migration to Australia

Want to get a job Down Under? Click here for expert help: How to Get a Job in Australia

Click here for expert help with travel visas: Travel Visas to Australia

Click here for tourist information about Australia: Visit Australia



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy