GBP/EUR, GBP/AUD Exchange Rates in Tight Range Ahead of BoE Interest Rate Decision
Local:
Sydney: Thu 6:22AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney6:22AM Thu19°
Melbourne6:22AM Thu14°
Brisbane5:22AM Thu22°
Perth3:22AM Thu17°
Adelaide5:52AM Thu13°
Hobart6:22AM Thu
Canberra6:22AM Thu14°
Darwin4:52AM Thu26°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

GBP/EUR, GBP/AUD Exchange Rates in Tight Range Ahead of BoE Interest Rate Decision

08 February 2018 by FC Exchange

The pound to euro (GBP/AUD) and pound to Australian dollar (GBP/AUD) exchange rates may have a few reasons to move this week as the BoE and RBA monetary policy statements approach, say industry experts FC Exchange.

The pound has softened in recent sessions as Brexit continues to weigh and market volatility heightens. Additionally, sterling is softer ahead of the Bank of England’s (BoE) interest rate decision. It’s possible a few policymakers will vote to increase interest rates; Michael Saunders and Ian McCafferty are historically the most hawkish members of the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC).

Many investors are expecting the central bank to revise rates higher to 0.75% at some point in the near future as the UK economy is coping well enough to withstand higher rates. If more than a few members vote in favour of higher rates there could be some significant movement for the pound. BoE Governor Mark Carney is expected to speak afterwards and his comments on the economy will be closely scrutinised.

Meanwhile, in the Eurozone, data showed Germany’s trade balance contracted in 2017 for the first time since 2009. The data indicated that improving domestic demand is creating the need for more imports. Dekabank representative Andreas Scheuerle commented: ‘The improvement of the trade balance is driven by imports and not by exports. This means we don’t have to put on the brakes on exports. This is a win-win situation.’

In the past, there have been calls for German authorities to improve domestic spending by Donald Trump and Chief of the International Monetary Fund Christine Lagarde. Lagarde has stated previously that considerable surpluses in countries like Germany have held some responsibility for a surge in protectionism in other places.

Meanwhile, the Australian dollar has also experienced some weakness as global commodity markets softened and the US dollar rebounded. Friday will see the release of Australian home loans and the Reserve Bank of Australia’s (RBA) monetary policy statement come to light which might give the Aussie dollar some direction.

The pound to euro exchange rate is currently trending in the region of 1.1220, reaching session highs of 1.1333 and lows of 1.1308 so far. The pound to Australian dollar (GBP/AUD) exchange rate is trending in the region of 1.7775.

Disclaimer: This economic update is provided by FC Exchange a Global Reach Group Company, industry leaders in foreign exchange. Authorised affiliates are permitted to reuse content.

Learn more about the Australian Dollar – Contact FC Exchange: Get A Quote

Want to live and work Down Under? Click here for expert help: Skilled Migration to Australia

Want to get a job Down Under? Click here for expert help: How to Get a Job in Australia

Click here for expert help with travel visas: Travel Visas to Australia

Click here for tourist information about Australia: Visit Australia



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy