Emissions scandal grows in Australia • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Tue 7:47AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney7:47AM Tue15°
Melbourne7:47AM Tue
Brisbane7:47AM Tue16°
Perth5:47AM Tue
Adelaide7:17AM Tue
Hobart7:47AM Tue
Canberra7:47AM Tue
Darwin7:17AM Tue25°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Emissions scandal grows in Australia

10 October 2015 by News Desk

travel_VW logoOver 90,000 vehicles in Australia are affected by the exhaust emissions scandal, it has been revealed.

Volkswagen Group Australia has confirmed that around 90,000 diesel VWs, Skodas and Audis sold in Australia were fitted with software that ‘cheated’ official tests to measure exhaust emissions.

Across the country around 54,745 VW cars and 17,256 vans, plus 5,148 Skoda models, as well as 14,028 Audis, will be recalled.

Australia’s consumer watchdog, the ACCC, is investigating and could launch legal action against the car-maker and impose multi-million dollar fines if it is shown that VW made misleading claims about its’ products. VW could also be hit with a fine of $108,000 per car for using false documents to gain Australian roadworthiness certification.

The Australian-based vehicles involved include the VW Golf, Polo, Jetta, Passat, Eos and Tiguan, plus commercial vehicles including the Caddy and Amarok. The 5,000 Skoda cars affected include the Octavia, Yeti and Superb. VW has now halted sales of vehicles fitted with 1.6L and 2.0L EA189 diesel engines.

VW said in an official statement: “Volkswagen Australia deeply regrets these issues. We understand the disappointment and frustration felt by our customers, dealers and partners in Australia and apologise for any inconvenience this may cause. We are doing everything possible to fix the problem and will be making further announcements in the near future.”

Vehicles affected in Australia:

Volkswagen Passenger Cars (54,745 cars)
Golf (2009-13)
Polo (2009-14)
Jetta (2010-15)
Passat CC (2008-12)
Volkswagen CC (2011-15)
Passat (2008-15)
Eos (2008-14)
Tiguan (2008-15)
Volkswagen Commercial Vehicles (17,256 cars)
Caddy (2010-15)
Amarok (2011-12)

ŠKODA (5148 cars)
Octavia (2009-13)
Yeti (2011-15)
Superb (2009-15)

Audi (14,208 cars)
A1 (current generation)
A3 (previous generation)
A4 (current generation)
A5 (current generation)
A6 (current generation)
Q5 (current generation 2.0 TDI)
TT (previous generation)



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy