Coronavirus Job Losses • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 11:01PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney11:01PM Fri20°
Melbourne11:01PM Fri16°
Brisbane10:01PM Fri23°
Perth8:01PM Fri21°
Adelaide10:31PM Fri
Hobart11:01PM Fri12°
Canberra11:01PM Fri16°
Darwin9:31PM Fri30°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Coronavirus Job Losses

07 May 2020 by News Desk

Coronavirus Job Losses have been most severe in the Accommodation and food services industries.

Latest ABS figures show a drop of around one in three paid jobs in the industry from mid-March to mid-April, according to new data released by the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

The Weekly Payroll Jobs and Wages in Australia estimates also showed that between 14 March and 18 April (the five weeks after Australia recorded its 100th confirmed COVID-19 case) total employee jobs decreased by 7.5%, while total wages paid by employers decreased by 8.2%.

Head of Labour Statistics at the ABS, Bjorn Jarvis, said: “The industries which lost the most jobs continued to be Accommodation and food services (-33.4%) and Arts and recreation services (-27.0%).

Coronavirus Job Losses

“Job losses in Accommodation and food services were greatest in South Australia (-39.7%) and Victoria (-35.6%).
“The new data shows that jobs in Accommodation and food services worked by people aged 20-29 and people over 70 decreased the most (-40.8% and -43.7%).”

“Looking at the week-to-week changes, the decrease in the number of jobs in the week ending 18 April was 1.5%, which was larger than the 0.3% decrease in week ending 11 April 2020,” Mr Jarvis said.

With the pandemic apparently now receding in Australia Coronavirus Job Losses should slow too, with employment growth forecast to rise during 2021.

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry/

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy