Brisbane parking costs most • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Thu 10:47AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney10:47AM Thu19°
Melbourne10:47AM Thu15°
Brisbane9:47AM Thu22°
Perth7:47AM Thu21°
Adelaide10:17AM Thu
Hobart10:47AM Thu20°
Canberra10:47AM Thu16°
Darwin9:17AM Thu29°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Brisbane parking costs most

09 August 2016 by News Desk

Brisbane parking costs are higher than any other Australian city including Sydney and Melbourne.

Brisbane parkingBrisbane parking costs an average of $28.08 for one hour in an off-street city parking spot. Inner-city parking is more expensive than Sydney at $27.94 per hour or Melbourne at $19.40 per hour.

Off-street car parking in Brisbane city centre is operated by national companies Secure Parking or Wilson.

Brisbane also has two cheaper council-operated car parks in the city.

“Since 2011 many of Brisbane’s parking rate increases have been above inflation, suggesting that parking operators are still in a comfortable oligopoly position and are able to extract maximum prices from motorists”, a recent official report said.

The most expensive daily parking rate in Brisbane is $89, a rate that is found at four inner city car parks.

Brisbane parking costs most

Brisbane parking costs have quadrupled in the past five years with long queues now to be found at the cheaper council-run King George Square or Wickham Terrace car parks.

Brisbane City Council has introduced strict new planning laws that have added to public parking in the city. Parking spaces at new inner city offices are fixed at one space for every 200m sq. of floor area.

A new online and mobile phone app is helping drivers to only pay for the time their vehicles are parked rather than in hour-long blocks

Drivers can register their vehicle and credit card and start and stop their parking session with an app, online or over the phone via mobile parking company CellOPark.

Brisbane City Council has done much to improve parking in the city including introducing dynamic pricing to on-street parking, special offers in council parks and using parking spaces more effectively.

Motorists are advised to plan their journeys well and look for car parks with cheaper rates, online for parking discounts and pre-booking deals.

Click here for expert help with travel visas: Travel Visas to Australia

Want to live and work Down Under? Click here for expert help: Skilled Migration to Australia

Want to get a job Down Under? Click here for expert help: How to Get a Job in Australia

Click here for expert help with Study Visas: Student Visas in Australia

Click here for tourist information about Australia: Visit Australia



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy