Australia Retail Sales Rise • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sat 7:17PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney7:17PM Sat14°
Melbourne7:17PM Sat11°
Brisbane7:17PM Sat20°
Perth5:17PM Sat16°
Adelaide6:47PM Sat
Hobart7:17PM Sat
Canberra7:17PM Sat
Darwin6:47PM Sat30°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Australia Retail Sales Rise

04 August 2020 by News Desk

Australia retail sales rose 2.7 per cent in June 2020 following a 16.9 per cent rise in May.

Food retailing (0.9 per cent) was lifted by a rise in sales in Victoria at the end of the month.

Online sales remain elevated, making up 9.7 per cent of total retail sales in June. Online contributed 6.1 per cent in June 2019.

Other retailing (0.3 per cent) rose in June, while there were falls in department stores (-12.1 per cent) and household goods retailing (-3.2 per cent), according to the Australian Bureau of Statistics Retail Trade figures.

There were large month-on-month rises in cafes, restaurants and takeaway food services (27.9 per cent), and clothing, footwear and personal accessory retailing (20.5 per cent).

Australia retail sales

There were rises in New South Wales (3.7 per cent), Victoria (4.1 per cent), Western Australia (2.5 per cent), South Australia (1.3 per cent), Tasmania (4.0 per cent), Queensland (0.4 per cent), and the Australian Capital Territory (3.8 per cent).

The Northern Territory (-4.9 per cent) fell in seasonally adjusted terms in June 2020.

Retail volumes fell 3.4 per cent in the June quarter 2020, seasonally adjusted. The fall follows a rise of 0.7 per cent in the March quarter 2020.

The falls were slightly offset by a rise in household goods retailing (14.6 per cent), with high consumer demand across furniture, electrical goods and hardware. Department stores also rose (0.1 per cent) in seasonally adjusted volume terms.

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news

For a range of official government information about Australia, visit https://www.Australia.gov.au



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy