Australia Retail Sales Rise • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 7:36AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney7:36AM Fri15°
Melbourne7:36AM Fri
Brisbane7:36AM Fri18°
Perth5:36AM Fri14°
Adelaide7:06AM Fri
Hobart7:36AM Fri
Canberra7:36AM Fri
Darwin7:06AM Fri24°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Australia Retail Sales Rise

22 July 2020 by News Desk

Australia retail turnover rose 2.4 per cent in June 2020 according to the Australian Bureau of Statistics. Turnover rose 8.2 per cent compared to June 2019.

Rises in June 2020 were led by cafes, restaurants and takeaway food services and clothing, footwear and personal accessory retailing.

While some restrictions on trade remained in June, many businesses in these industries saw a full month of trade, having been closed for the first week of May 2020.

Turnover in these industries remained below the levels of June 2019.

Australia retail turnover

Food retailing saw a minor rise of 0.9 per cent, with a rise in supermarkets and grocery stores offset by a fall in liquor retailing.

Levels in supermarkets and grocery stores remained elevated, with evidence of stockpiling occurring at the very end of June, particularly in Victoria.

Household goods retailing fell in June 2020, however this industry continued to trade significantly above the levels of June 2019.

Department stores fell 12 per cent following a large rise in May.

Are you thinking about living, working or study in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news

For a range of official government information about Australia, visit https://www.Australia.gov.au



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy