Australia Retail Sales April 2020 • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Thu 10:21AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney10:21AM Thu19°
Melbourne10:21AM Thu15°
Brisbane10:21AM Thu17°
Perth8:21AM Thu14°
Adelaide9:51AM Thu
Hobart10:21AM Thu17°
Canberra10:21AM Thu
Darwin9:51AM Thu27°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Australia Retail Sales April 2020

21 May 2020 by News Desk

Australia retail sales: Retail turnover fell 17.9 per cent in April 2020 according to the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

This is the strongest seasonally adjusted fall ever published from the Retail Trade survey, following the strongest ever seasonally adjusted rise in March 2020. Turnover was down 9.4 per cent when compared to April 2019.

These preliminary figures show falls in every industry, with particularly strong falls in food retailing, cafes, restaurants and takeaways, and clothing, footwear and personal accessories.

The food retailing industry, which saw a strong rise in March due to unprecedented demand, fell 17.1 per cent from March 2020.

Additional analysis indicates that the majority of products that rose substantially in March recorded falls in April 2020, however they remained at higher levels than April 2019.

Australia retail sales

While March saw a mix of impacts related to COVID-19 across industries, these impacts were overwhelmingly negative in April, as regulations regarding social distancing measures limited the ability of businesses to trade as normal for the entire month.

Cafes, restaurants and takeaway food services, clothing, footwear and personal accessory retailing, and department stores fell heavily in April and there were no offsetting rises in the other industries.

Turnover in clothing, footwear and personal accessory retailing, and cafes, restaurants and takeaways is around half the level of April 2019.

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry/

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies.
Cookie Policy Privacy policy