Adelaide to host Solar Challenge • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Mon 8:01AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney8:01AM Mon20°
Melbourne8:01AM Mon17°
Brisbane7:01AM Mon22°
Perth5:01AM Mon21°
Adelaide7:31AM Mon
Hobart8:01AM Mon14°
Canberra8:01AM Mon13°
Darwin6:31AM Mon28°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Adelaide to host Solar Challenge

14 October 2015 by News Desk

travel_TNT_solarCarA pioneering solar-powered car has been shipped across the world for a record-breaking road race in Australia.

The car, called Stella Lux and built by students at Eindhoven University of Technology, is due to take part in the World Solar Challenge, a 3,000km race between the Australian cities of Darwin and Adelaide

The vehicle (pictured) was shipped by TNT from the Netherlands to Liege in Belgium before flying to Singapore and Melbourne to be ready for the race taking place between 18 and 25 October.

Stella Lux is a wedged shaped electric car which charges itself with solar cells on its roof. The students claim the car can travel 1,000 kilometres (621 miles) on a single charge and has a top speed of 77 miles per hour. It has a navigation system to provide route guidance based on weather predictions.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy