100% rise in Canberra old folk • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Thu 10:49AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney10:49AM Thu19°
Melbourne10:49AM Thu15°
Brisbane9:49AM Thu22°
Perth7:49AM Thu21°
Adelaide10:19AM Thu
Hobart10:49AM Thu20°
Canberra10:49AM Thu16°
Darwin9:19AM Thu29°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

100% rise in Canberra old folk

28 August 2015 by News Desk

health_old manThe number of retired people in Canberra is set to double in the next decade and more housing is desperately needed.

A huge increase in the number of retirement homes and villages is needed to meet growing demand from ageing baby boomers. In less than a decade 15% of Canberra residents will be aged over 65 and retirement villages around the country already have an average occupancy rate of more than 90%.

A new Retirement Census by the Property Council calls for the ACT Government to change its’ current policies including setting retirement living housing targets, fast-tracking approvals, and making retirement living a permissible development in residential zones.

Darrell Todd of thinkingaustralia says: “These latest figures show the huge demand and need for new construction over coming years, which provides a real opportunity for skilled workers seeking jobs in Australia”.

There are over 2,300 retirement villages in Australia. The average monthly service fee covering cost of facilities, services and staff, is $434 (around 25% of the monthly pension for full single pensioners).



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy