Wombat • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Wed 12:27AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney12:27AM Wed19°
Melbourne12:27AM Wed12°
Brisbane12:27AM Wed23°
Perth10:27PM Tue14°
Adelaide11:57PM Tue
Hobart12:27AM Wed11°
Canberra12:27AM Wed11°
Darwin11:57PM Tue28°

about australia

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Wombat

  • Size Up to 100cm long with a 2.5cm tail
  • Habitat Woodland or plains
  • Species Common Wombat, Northern and Southern Hairy-nosed Wombats
  • Found Now only common in south-eastern Australia
  • Diet Grass and tubers
  • Age In the wild they usually live for up to 5 years

Wombat Facts

Wombats are playful and much more intelligent than their closest relatives – the koala. They are one of the largest burrowing animals in the world and may spend up to two-thirds of their lives underground. The burrow protects them from heat, cold, rain and bushfires. Their sleeping chambers are lined with leaves and twigs. A burrow may be the work of several generations, and can be up to 20 metres long.

Although they do not usually move around quickly, they can easily outrun a human when required and are immensely strong. Their toughened rear hide makes it difficult for predators to bite.

The female Common Wombat gives birth to a tiny naked baby which spends six months in its mother’s rear-opening pouch. Once it leaves the pouch, the young continues to breast-feed for around another year. The Northern Hairy-nosed Wombat can breed faster and produce two young every three years. However it is now one of the rarest mammals in the world, and has only approximately 3 km² of remaining habitat left, located in a national park in Queensland.

We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy