Koala • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Tue 11:06PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney11:06PM Tue19°
Melbourne11:06PM Tue12°
Brisbane11:06PM Tue23°
Perth9:06PM Tue14°
Adelaide10:36PM Tue
Hobart11:06PM Tue12°
Canberra11:06PM Tue11°
Darwin10:36PM Tue28°

about australia

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Koala

  • Size Average 72cm for females and 78cm for males (head and body length)
  • Habitat Forests and woodland
  • Species Phascolarctos cinereus
  • Found Eastern parts of Australia (Queensland to Victoria)
  • Diet Leaves, mainly of eucalyptus
  • Age Male koalas live for about ten years, while female koalas can live for up to fifteen years

Koala Facts

Despite the common title ‘koala bear’, koalas are actually marsupials and not bears. The word koala comes from an aboriginal word that means ‘does not drink’. Although there is just one species koalas found in the southern parts of Australia are considerably larger and have thicker fur than those in the north. It is thought this is an adaptation to keep them warm in the colder southern winters. They are mostly nocturnal, sleeping for up to 18 to 20 hours a day to conserve energy.

There are over 600 varieties of eucalyptus, also known as gum trees, but koalas are fussy eaters and have strong preferences for different types of gum leaves. These leaves do not have a high nutritional value and are toxic to most other animals. They also take a long time to digest, which is partly why koalas spend so much time sleeping.

Koalas communicate with each other by making a range of noises, including a sound like a loud snore and a belch. Koala young are known as joeys. The joey stays in its mother’s pouch for about 6 or 7 months drinking only milk. Before it can tolerate gum leaves, the joey must feed on a substance called pap, which is a soft and runny form of the mother’s droppings. This allows the mother to pass on to the joey special micro-organisms from her intestine which are necessary for it to be able to digest the eucalyptus leaves.

We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy