Local:
Sydney: Mon 5:27PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney5:27PM Mon21°
Melbourne5:27PM Mon27°
Brisbane4:27PM Mon26°
Perth2:27PM Mon31°
Adelaide4:57PM Mon
Hobart5:27PM Mon22°
Canberra5:27PM Mon18°
Darwin3:57PM Mon32°

about australia

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Dolphin

  • Size 2 to 4 metres long (Bottlenose Dolphins)
  • Habitat Shallow tropical to cold temperate seas
  • Species Thirteen species of dolphin frequent Australian waters
  • Found All round Australia's coast but especially in Western Australia
  • Diet Mostly fish and squid
  • Age Males live to about 30 years, but females can live until they are 40

Dolphin Facts

Dolphins have a body adapted for fast swimming. The head contains a round organ used for echolocation called the melon. In many species the jaws are elongated to form a distinct beak, the Bottlenose for example. Dolphins can have as many as 250 teeth. The dolphin brain is large and has a highly structured cortex, and they are widely believed to be amongst the most intelligent of all animals.

Dolphins often leap above the water surface, sometimes performing acrobatics. This and other behavior is interpreted as playing. They are capable of diving up to 260 m deep and 15 min long, but rarely stay underwater longer than few minutes. They are social animals, living in pods or schools of up to a dozen animals. The individuals communicate using a variety of clicks, whistles and other vocalizations. Membership in schools is not rigid and interchanging is common. However, the animals can establish strong bonds between each other. This leads to them staying with injured or ill members for support.

Twelve months after Bottlenose Dolphins mate, a metre long young is born in shallow water. To speed up the nursing process, the mother can eject milk from her mammary glands. The calf is nursed for 12 to 18 months and the young live closely with their mother for up to 6 years.

We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies.
Cookie Policy Privacy policy