Crocodile • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 6:53AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney6:53AM Fri14°
Melbourne6:53AM Fri
Brisbane6:53AM Fri16°
Perth4:53AM Fri14°
Adelaide6:23AM Fri
Hobart6:53AM Fri
Canberra6:53AM Fri
Darwin6:23AM Fri24°

about australia

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Crocodile

  • Size Usually up to 5 metres long
  • Habitat Swamps, rivers and estuaries
  • Species Saltwater Crocodile, Freshwater Crocodile
  • Found Northern regions of Australia
  • Diet A saltwater croc can take any animal up to the size of a water buffalo. Freshwater crocodiles eat birds, bats, reptiles, amphibians, and fish
  • Age Can live to 60 years or more in the wild

Crocodile Facts

The Saltwater or Estuarine Crocodile is the largest of all living reptiles, and is found throughout Southeast Asia and northern Australasia. They generally spend the tropical wet season in freshwater but move downstream to estuaries in the dry season. They compete fiercely with each other for territory, which is why junior crocodiles are forced into the more marginal river systems and sometimes into the ocean. They can travel hundreds of miles by sea but compete poorly with shark species in a marine environment, particularly with larger sharks such as Tiger Sharks.

Australia’s other species of crocodile is known as the Freshwater or Johnston’s Crocodile. This much smaller species has narrow snout and is also found in northern parts of Australia, but rarely grows more than 3 metres long. Unlike ‘salties’ they are considered harmless to humans. Their sharp teeth are adapted for feeding on fish, and can give a nasty bite however.

Freshwater Crocodiles breed during the dry season, laying eggs at night below the surface of a sand bank, while salties build nests made of mud in the wet season. Around 80 or 90 days later the eggs hatch, and after this the female parent stays close to protect the small crocodiles for a while, carrying the newly-hatched juveniles to the water in her mouth.

Family and Partner Migration

Includes categories for Partners, Parents, Children and Orphan Relatives of an Australian citizen or permanent resident.

Find Out More

Retirement migration

People over 55 years of age with no dependants ( other than a spouse ) and have at least A$500,000 to transfer to Australia.

Find Out More

Free Callback

We will call you back, at a time to suit you, to discuss any Australian migration question you have

Find Out More

We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy