Kookaburra • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Wed 12:48AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney12:48AM Wed19°
Melbourne12:48AM Wed12°
Brisbane12:48AM Wed23°
Perth10:48PM Tue14°
Adelaide12:18AM Wed
Hobart12:48AM Wed11°
Canberra12:48AM Wed11°
Darwin12:18AM Wed28°

about australia

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Kookaburra

  • Size Up to 46cm (beak to tail)
  • Habitat Woodland and watercourses
  • Species Laughing Kookaburra, Blue-winged Kookaburra
  • Found Mainly in eastern and northern parts of Australia
  • Diet Insects, reptiles, fish, and sometimes small rodents
  • Age Often lives 20 years or more, pairing for life and living in family groups

Kookaburra Facts

Kookaburras are members of the kingfisher family: there are 10 species of Kingfisher in total found in Australia. The Laughing Kookaburra is probably the most famous, and is renowned for its loud cry of ‘koo-koo-koo-koo-koo-kaa-kaa-kaa’ which is usually sung in a chorus. Laughing Kookaburras can often become quite tame and will readily accept scraps of meat, bashing it on their perch before swallowing. These popular birds have successfully been introduced to Tasmania, New Zealand and parts of Western Australia.

The Blue-winged Kookaburra is slightly smaller, has a coarser call but is more colourful than the Laughing Kookaburra. It is generally found in coastal regions between Broome and Brisbane.

Kookaburras are very territorial and live in close family groups.Young birds resulting from previous breeding seasons remain for up to three years: they help their parents incubate the eggs as well as feed and protect the chicks.

We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy