Sydney attracts 6.5m visitors • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Thu 11:48AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney11:48AM Thu22°
Melbourne11:48AM Thu15°
Brisbane11:48AM Thu26°
Perth9:48AM Thu20°
Adelaide11:18AM Thu
Hobart11:48AM Thu14°
Canberra11:48AM Thu15°
Darwin11:18AM Thu30°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Sydney attracts 6.5m visitors

05 September 2015 by News Desk

sydney03There has been a 5.6% rise in the number of people visiting Sydney in Australia over the past 12 months

And it is the city’s cultural attractions that have bought visitors flocking to Sydney. Internationally, the five strongest markets for cultural visitors travelling to Sydney are China, UK, USA, Korea and New Zealand.

In the year to March 2015, New South Wales saw around two million international travellers and 4.5 million domestic visitors attend theatre performances and concerts, or visited a museum, art gallery or festival, a historical or heritage building, site or monument.

“Our fantastic calendar of cultural events inspires many visitors to come to Sydney and NSW. They book into hotels, dine in local restaurants, visit attractions and shop in our retail outlets,” said Stuart Ayres, NSW Minister for Trade, Tourism and Major Events

Destination NSW’ says that 54% of domestic overnight cultural visitors to Sydney were from interstate and 46% were from intrastate NSW. More than a third of interstate visitors came from Victoria, followed by Queensland, Australian Capital Territory, Western Australia, South Australia, Tasmania and the Northern Territory.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy