Study in Australia: University enrolments rise • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sun 7:10PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney7:10PM Sun13°
Melbourne7:10PM Sun10°
Brisbane7:10PM Sun17°
Perth5:10PM Sun18°
Adelaide6:40PM Sun
Hobart7:10PM Sun
Canberra7:10PM Sun
Darwin6:40PM Sun31°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Study in Australia: University enrolments rise

11 October 2016 by News Desk

Study in Australia where universities continue to be a top international study destination with overseas student numbers rising by seven per cent.

Study in AustraliaStudy in Australia where Universities Australia Deputy Chief Executive Catriona Jackson said the increase in enrolments was in line with population growth and demonstrated the system was financially sustainable.

Enrolments at Australian universities by domestic students increased 1.5 per cent in 2015.

“The figures show there was an initial surge following the uncapping of university places as the system absorbed ‘unmet demand’. This has now tapered off, easing financial pressure on the system,” Ms Jackson said.

Study in Australia where the number of domestic students starting an undergraduate degree grew by 1.5 per cent between 2014 and 2015, compared to the peak growth rate of 9.6 per cent in 2012, according to figures released by the Department of Education and Training.

Study in Australia: University enrolments rise

The new figures show that Australian universities continue to be a top international study destination with the number of overseas students rising by seven per cent since 2014.

Access to university for under-represented groups has continued to improve under the demand-driven system.

Indigenous enrolments continued a trend of strong growth, increasing by 7.1 per cent in 2015. Indigenous students now make up 1.5 per cent of all domestic enrolments, up from 1.2 per cent in 2006. But this is still well short of the Indigenous share of the population (2.7 per cent).

The number of students from low socio-economic backgrounds grew by 3.2 per cent, while students from regional areas increased by only 1.8 per cent.

“Strong growth in the numbers of Indigenous students, as well as those from low socio-economic backgrounds, is heartening, although not nearly sufficient. Slower than average growth in regional enrolments is of particular concern,” she said.

“A university education that is accessible to a diverse range of students with the capacity to study is more important than ever.”

The figures also reveal that attrition rates are largely unchanged compared with a decade ago.

“Even with the rapid expansion of student numbers, attrition rates have remained steady since 2005. This is a big achievement for Australian universities,” Ms Jackson said.

“The figures serve as a reminder of the importance of programs designed to not only improve access but to enhance student retention and completion rates in the modern university system.”

The 2016 Federal Budget cut $152 million from the Higher Education Participation and Partnerships Programme which supports the most educationally disadvantaged students to succeed at university.

“Universities Australia strongly opposes cuts to this landmark equity program.”

If you are seeking to Study in Australia, contact us today for expert help and guidance.

Click here for expert help with Study Visas: Student Visas in Australia

Click here for expert help with travel visas: Travel Visas to Australia

Want to get a job Down Under? Click here for expert help: How to Get a Job in Australia

Click here for tourist information about Australia: Visit Australia



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy