Lyrebird • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 6:10AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney6:10AM Fri14°
Melbourne6:10AM Fri
Brisbane6:10AM Fri15°
Perth4:10AM Fri15°
Adelaide5:40AM Fri
Hobart6:10AM Fri
Canberra6:10AM Fri
Darwin5:40AM Fri25°

about australia

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Lyrebird

  • Size 74cm to 98cm long
  • Habitat Rainforest
  • Species Superb Lyrebird, Albert's Lyrebird
  • Found Tasmania and the eastern states of Australia
  • Diet Insects, spiders, worms and sometimes seeds
  • Age Often lives 20 years or more, pairing for life and living in family groups

Lyrebird Facts

These ground-dwelling birds are notable for their extraordinary ability to mimic both natural and artificial sounds as well as the male birds’ fanned tail. Although well-known in Australia, they appear on the 10 cent coin, lyrebirds are shy and rarely seen in the wild. Lyrebirds can accurately mimic the songs of other birds, other animals, human noises, machinery of all kinds, explosions and musical instruments.Superb Lyrebirds have the larger, more spectacular feathers. They are native to Victoria, but have been introduced to Tasmania and are considered quite common in national parks along the east coast of Australia. The slightly smaller Albert’s Lyrebird is only found in a very small area of Southern Queensland rainforest.

The lyrebird is so called because the male bird has a spectacular tail, which was originally thought to resemble a lyre. When a lyrebird specimen was prepared for display at the British Museum by a taxidermist in the 1800’s, the taxidermist mistakenly thought that the tail would be held in a similar way to that of a peacock. Later John Gould used these stuffed lyrebirds to produce a, now famously inaccurate, painting.

Male lyrebirds call mostly during winter, when they construct and maintain an open arena-mound in dense bush, on which they sing and dance in courtship displays. Females build an untidy domed nest usually low to the ground in a moist gully where she lays a single egg, She then incubates the egg for over 50 days until it hatches, and is the sole carer of the lyrebird chick.

We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy